Jump to Navigation | Search | Content area | Page footer

European Award for Choral Composers

The European Award for Choral Composers is the continuation of the “Golden Tuning Fork” Award, organised by AGEC over many years, and was first organised by the European Choral Association – Europa Cantat in 2011/2012.

The aim of the award is to discover unknown or less known choral works from different European countries, already published and/or performed or written for the occasion, that are good and interesting and can be performed by a good average choir, not just by a top-level choir.

2017/18 Edition

The next edition of the European Award for Choral Composers, published in 2016, will be organised in 2017, with the winning compositions being performed in the Festival EUROPA CANTAT XIX in 2018.

Compositions can only be nominated by a national or regional federation, member of ECA-EC who can submit up to 3 works in each category, composed by one or different composers within the past five years.


(a) choir a cappella
(b) choir accompanied by up to four instruments

Every choral formation from two to four parts (divisi allowed), for mixedor equal voice choirs of all kinds of genres (classical, pop, jazz, etc.). The performance time of a composition is limited between minimum three and maximum nine minutes.


Awards: Each awarded work will be performed in the frame of the festival EUROPA CANTAT XIX in Tallinn, Estonia, in July/August 2018. The composers of the winning works will be invited to the festival. In addition ECA-EC will use their best endeavours to promote the publication and the spreading ofthe awarded scores.


Deadline for applications: May 31st 2017

the winning compositions will be chosen by September 2017.


Information / Address for submitted scores:

European Choral Association – Europa Cantat

Weberstr. 59a, D-53115 Bonn

T : +49 228 9125663, F : +49 228 9124658


The full conditions of the competition can be found >> here

Previous editions